Gardening Tip in March……….down South!

We are about 6 weeks early this year………..just learned that we have moved from “growth zone 7B to 8A”! Our annual temperatures are rising. We can now grow many plants that in the past we couldn’t because of the cold winters! Some hibiscus plants have come back the next summer as well as some vines that used to die down and not reappear the next year!

ROSES! YES! Newer varieties from growers such as Week’s Roses and others are now more disease and temperature tolerant (both hot and cold)!

AND YES cut your roses back to 8-10 inches EVERY year. My 2 year experiment with not cutting them back that far has shown me the VERY reason most rose growers recommnend it! IF YOU DON’T THE STEMS WILL PRODUCE BUDS AND FLOWERS THAT WILL FALL OVER ONTO THE GROUND WITH THE FIRST GOOD RAIN!

I’m trying something new this year: Adding plants that are heat and drought and deer resistant!!!! With our weather changes and with less water by rain it is becoming impossible to water everything……………..so stay tuned, I’ll be bringing you up to date on the success of this new adventure!

About Life's Lessons- Last Times

A gentleman having traveled down many roads. I've made my life easier by reading books by other people who have had trips down different roads than I have. I want to help others by sharing my efforts to understand change in ways they might understand and benefit from. Life is good...............just not always easy! Author, 4 short plays Actor, 2 movies, Board Chair of Local Theater , Gardener, Barbershop Quartet member
This entry was posted in Gardening Down South Region 8 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gardening Tip in March……….down South!

  1. As you know, I do not have a green thumb. In fact, I think I very well not even have a thumb when it comes to gardening! Could you do a post on what you put in your pots for various flowers?! I think I always over water or under water; so please keep us updated on your drought resistant plants!

Leave a Reply

